What Is The Pennsylvania Child Labor Law?
The Pennsylvania Child Labor Law (CLL) protects the safety and health of minors in the state of Pennsylvania, requiring a certain age for employment and forbidding employment in particular establishments until a lawful age.
What Age May A Minor Work?
Pennsylvania CLL is in agreement with the federal government on the working age. A child may begin working at the age of 14. But all minors, ages 14-18, are required to have a work permit.
Can A Minor Under The Age Of 14 Work?
According to CLL, a minor under the age of 14 can work but only in certain circumstances. They do not need a work permit. A minor at least 12 years old may be a golf caddy; however, he or she may not carry more than one golf bag nor work for more than 18 holes in one day. An 11-year-old minor may deliver newspapers.
How Do I Get A Work Permit?
CLL does not require that a minor have a job before applying for his or her work permit. The process for obtaining a work permit is a simple one.
Pick up a work permit application at your local school district.
Fill out the application and have it signed by your parent or guardian.
Show issuing officer an official proof of age document.
certified baptismal certificate
any certified documentary record of age
signed statement of a physician certifying that the applicant is the lawful age for employment
What Occupations Can Minors Not Work?
The Pennsylvania CLL regulates what a minor may not do for employment. The list is a long and detailed one, including no manufacturing work, no driving of transportation, and no working on scaffolding. However, minors are permitted to run lawn care equipment and to be snack bar attendants at bowling alleys. Furthermore, minors are not permitted to serve alcohol or work in a bar. Of course, minors are still allowed by law to work at amusement parks, ski resorts, and golf clubs as long as they do not work in a room where alcohol is served.
What Does The Law Say About Working Hours?
PA CLL regulates the amount of time a minor can be working. If a minor is enrolled in regular school, he or she is not permitted to work more than 28 hours in a workweek. An individual under the age of 18 may not work over 44 hours in a workweek.
During the school year, a minor under the age of 16 may only work between the hours of 7 am and 7 pm. However, in the summer break, working hours can be between 7 am and 10 pm.
The Pennsylvania Child Labor Law is quite detailed. The vision is to protect minors from unlawful conduct from employers and preserve the minors’ rights to education.
What Are The Penalties For Disobeying Pennsylvania Child Labor Law?
The PA CLL enforces penalties for those who violate the Child Labor Law in Pennsylvania. A first offense can cost up to $400. And if an employer is caught violating the law once again, the second offense costs between $750 and $1,500. Also, a court may require the penalty of up to 10 days in jail for disobeying the law.
These are just a few of the penalties that a person may be subject to for violating the law.
If you are an employee and you suspect that your employer is violating the law, contact an employment lawyer who will know how to navigate your case under the law.
Don’t hesitate, talk to an employment attorney: (412) 626-5626 or firstname.lastname@example.org.